Delia, The Return

Fear not dearest Nigella. Delia will definitely NOT be overtaking you in the express cooking stakes. 

I must say that I was sadly disappointed with Delia’s comeback on TV last night (BBC2).  Yes, I know I tread on unsafe ground when I say I feel Delia should probably retire and stick to football, which has obviously overtaken her food obsession since we last saw her in the kitchen.  Gone is the plum in her mouth, and the condescending tone, but both at a price.   Us busy people should now be cooking with tinned mince, which, even my cat wouldn’t eat if his young life depended on it.  And, pray what IS our food icon’s latest, seemingly, just use it in everything ingredient ? Wait for it..frozen mashed potato ! Yes, that’s right, peeling a potato has ever been so easy.  Our children never need know what that small brown jewel of the soil either looks, or tastes like, thanks to our Delia.  Never mind, that she used enough of the tiny frozen demons to plaster a wall, there was no mention of how much they would cost the oh-so-busy would-be-cook.  My tip on this: Give up the job, lose the salary and actually prepare it yourself. I bet you’d still have enough money left over for a takeaway !

Every meal she prepared last night contained her new found friend.  Fish bake, shepherd’s pie and, the ‘queen’ of the cooking world, even managed to bung a couple in a soup AND make bread out of the gruesome stuff ! 

The only thing worse than the mash portions was the unconvincingly grovelling support of that other irritating TV cook, Nigel Slater. 

I ask you. Are our lives really too busy to peel a spud ?  I thought the days of Mash get Smash were dead and buried ! Dearly departed Fanny.C. is turning as we speak.

2 thoughts on “Delia, The Return

  1. I totally agree with all of this, EXCEPT the bit about Mr Slater. Well, I am outraged by his presence on this programme, but have you any of his books? The puzzling thing is that he has always been the exact opposite of the person Delia has morphed into. Take a flick through the simply stunning and inspiring Kitchen Diaries if you haven’t already, it’s one of my favourite books of all time…and I’m a literature student, so there’s a lot good stuff on that list, but this is close to the top!

  2. Thanks for posting.

    I think I must have every celeb-chef going in print but none from Nigel, which wasn’t a concious decision – I just don’t remember seeing any of his books on the shelf, dare I say it, at Tesco. I suppose I should thank him really, as he did discover our Nigella, who, incidentally, I used to find a little irritating in the beginning as well. It’s just his TV persona – I find him a bit bland which causes me to switch channels. I think I initially got irritated with one of his programmes on 50 or so ways with a potato. Oh the irony ! What can I say, I’m never happy !

    P.S. Never one to miss a good cook, I’ll check out the shelves on my next visit.

    L

Leave a Reply

